top of page

Sophie Min is a Brisbane-based pianist, composer and improvisational artist whose work shows a distinctive personal aesthetic and one of the most outstanding young jazz musicians in Australia.


Sophie’s accolades include ABC Jazz emerging talents of the year, Australian Jazz Bell Awards, SIMA and APRA AMCOS Emerging Composers Fellowship, and the Freedman Fellowship. 

Sophie has performed worldwide with the JM Jazz World Orchestra (EUR), the Centrum Jazz Port Townsend Workshop (US), Banff Workshop (Canada), Basel International Jazz Festival (Switzerland), Perth International Jazz Festival, Wangaratta International Jazz Festival, Melbourne Digital Concert Hall, Brisbane Jazz Festival and Sydney Women’s Jazz Festival.


She has also written several commissions including We Made a Thing (WA) and Emerging Composers Program (NSW). Her latest project, SMO (Sophie Min Orchestra), is a collective chamber jazz ensemble that released two albums ‘Your Wings’ (2022) and 'Bellwether' (2020). These works depict the exciting jazz ensemble that takes her musical vision to a daring new place with strings, percussions, and modern jazz arranging atmosphere. The recent work interacts as a multigenre and collaborative work with choreography, and visual and improvisational art. She is a fierce solo artist pursuing research and activities of improvisation based on sound resonance, harmonic facilities, and rhythmic intricacy. Alongside her solo work, she is also a significant collaborator, releasing music as part of Shamin and Forage.

Currently finalising her master's research entitled ‘Narrative Driven Practice: the Process of Arranging and Composing Music through Piano Improvisations’ at the Queensland Conservatorium under Vanessa Tomlinson and Steve Newcomb. Her recent mentorship experience includes sessions with Scott Tinkler and Barney McAll. 



Performance at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, Banff International Workshop in Jazz and Creative Music, Canada

@photo by Jessica Wittman

"Sophie Min may seem unassuming but when she writes music you witness a lion roar  and you hear and feel a very evolved spirit expressing deep knowledge, passion and the mystery of our human condition" - Barney McAll

"Sophie Min is the truth" - Vijay Iyer

"Your Wings" - Sophie Min Orchestra

Independent Release (2022)
Sophie Min (p/composition), Zac Sakrewski (b), Benjamin Shannon (d), Nozomi Omote (vib/xyl), Flora Wong (vln), Tristan Rogers (tpt), Martin Kay (fl/sax/cl), Hannah Macklin (vox)


"Bellwether" - Sophie Min Orchestra

Real Production (2020)

Sophie Min (p/composition), Zac Sakrewski (b), Lachlan Hawkins (d), Kayleigh Pincott (v),

Tristan Rogers (trumpet), Josh Kehoe (tenor sax/soprano sax/flute/clarinet), Joel Aspinal (tenor sax), Harry Ottley (alto sax/flute/clarinet), Flora Wong (violin1), Julianna Kim (violin2),

Kieran Welch (viola), Briony Lutterell (Cello)

"Solo Vol.1

Supersonic (2020)

Sophie Min (p/composition)

"Open" - The Counters: Sophie Min Trio

Supersonic (2019)

Sophie Min (p/composition), Helen Svoboda (b), Tim Green (d)

"Thanks for the Hands" - Min/Sherlock

Pinnacles Music (2019)

Sophie Min (p/composition), James Sherlock (guitar)

"Fine Gnaw" - SHAMIN

Independent Release (2019)

Sophie Min (p/composition), Benjamin Shannon (d/composition)

"Min/Svoboda/Hawkins" - Min/Svoboda/Hawkins Trio

Independent Release (2018)

Sophie Min (p/composition), Helen Svoboda (b/composition), Lachlan Hawkins (dr)

"Hectic Moon" - Sprout

Supersonic Production (2018)

Helen Svoboda (b/composition), Sophie Min (p/composition), Simon Svoboda (cello)

"From All Sides" - Nimble 

Independent Release (2018)

Sophie Min (p/composition), David Galea (b/composition), Lachlan Hawkins (dr/handpan),

Elly Hoyt (v), Kristin Berardi (v), Tsoof Baras (percussion)

"Move to the Bleat" - Martin Kay's Forage

Supersonic Production (2018)

Martin Kay (as/cl/composition), Andrew Saragossi (ts/acl), Brodie Mcallister (tb),

Sophie Min (p/keys), Helen Svoboda (b), Zac Sakrewski (b/effects), Benjamin Shannon (d)

"Solace" - Kayleigh Pincott Quintet

Independent Release (2017)

Kayleigh Pincott (v/composition), Sophie Min (p), Zac Sakrewski (b), Lachlan Hawkins (d),

Tristan Rogers (Tpt), Kieran T. Stevenson (v)


@Sophie Min Music All Rights Reserved 2023

bottom of page